Jimmy Raney & Sonny Clark - Together! (1954) [1995]

Jimmy Raney & Sonny Clark - Together! (1954) [1995]
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 9 Tracks | 39:07 | 90 MB
Genre: Jazz | Label: Xanadu Records

The music on this Xanadu LP includes seven selections from a quartet date featuring guitarist Jimmy Raney, pianist Sonny Clark, bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Bobby White. That particular session has been reissued on CD by Vogue along with five "new" alternate takes, so this album has dropped in value. However, completists will be interested to know that, in addition to that excellent session, Raney and Clark are teamed together with tenorman Gosta Theselius on two other numbers ("Jumping for Jane" and "Invention") that have not yet reappeared. The Raney-Clark partnership did not survive this European tour, which found them mostly backing Billie Holiday; a pity it did not, because the communication between the two masterful players was quite impressive. (allmusic)


01. Once in a While
02. Pennies from Heaven
03. Yesterdays
04. There Will Never Be Another You
05. Body and Soul
06. Stella By Starlight
07. You Go To My Head
08. Jumping For Jane
09. Invention


Jimmy Raney - guitar
Simon Brehm/Red Mitchell - bass
Sonny Clark - piano
Elaine Leighton/Bob White - drums
Costa Theselius - tenor sax