Aimee Allen - Matter Of Time (2015)

Aimee Allen - Matter Of Time (2015)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 13 Tracks | 56:12 | 131 MB
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz | Label: Aimee Allen

Matter of Time is a collection of highly original music about love and other transformations. Aimée’s talents as a composer and lyricist are matched by dynamic arrangements, and the album goes from new takes on the familiar, to fresh vistas in uncharted territory. With Aimée’s warm voice and soulful phrasing as the guide, this is not just any jazz vocal album.

After Aimée’s critically acclaimed Winters & Mays (Azuline Music) in 2011, this project formed, deformed, and reformed over a year and a half. It was neither effort nor circumstance that determined the contours of the album, but time. When the time was right, Aimée’s new compositions came together seamlessly with those of masters like Jobim, Ivan Lins, and Rogers and Hart, and those of her contemporaries, master bassist François Moutin, and guitarist David Allen (Aimée’s brother), to create a cohesive whole.

Aimée is accompanied by an incredible cast of musicians, including special guest Romero Lubambo, the Grammy nominated master of Brazilian rhythm. With Romero on four selected tracks, bassist Scott Ritchie on one of them, and a rhythm section comprised of François Moutin, Toru Dodo, and Jacob Melchior on nine other tracks, vocal jazz is taken on new journeys, soulful original compositions deliver depth of meaning, and standards that are given new life.


01. Matter Of Time (Feat. Romero Lubambo) (3:31)
02. Soul Cargo (4:25)
03. My Romance (4:24)
04. The Island (Feat. Romero Lubambo) (5:23)
05. Close Your Eyes (3:11)
06. New Day (4:41)
07. Sometimes You Just Know (4:17)
08. Out Of Nowhere (3:27)
09. Qu'est-Ce Qu'on Est Bien Ici (Feat. Romero Lubambo) (5:05)
10. In The Name Of Love (4:57)
11. Corcovado (Feat. Romero Lubambo) (4:35)
12. The Space Between (4:14)
13. Matter Of Time (Reprise) (3:56)