Jimmy Raney ‎- Live at Bradley's 1974 (2007)

Jimmy Raney ‎- Live at Bradley's 1974 (2007)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 2 CDs - 16 Tracks | 2:20:15 | 208 MB
Genre: Jazz | Label: Gambit Records

An extended previously unissued live performance by one of the true masters of jazz guitar. Two hours of never heard solos by Jimmy Raney recorded in the year of his musical comeback.

From 1967 to 1974, the great guitarist Jimmy Raney (1927-1995) went into semi-retirement in Louisville, and didn't make a single trip to the recording studios. Whether this was due to personal problems (like his growing alcohol addiction) or to the lack of interest by the major recording companies, his discography presents a notable gap of almost ten years, which is only represented by a couple of live recordings.

Recorded with amateur equipment on December 17 & 18, 1974 at New York's famous Bradley's club, the concerts on this CD occurred just after Raney's comeback. Like many other great jazzmen, Jimmy Raney had a unique musical sound, which encompassed both modern and traditional styles.

Considering that this is an amateur recording made at a crowded club, the sound quality here is obviously not up to Gambit's usual standards. However, we felt that the musical and historical importance of these performances more than compensated for any deficiencies on the original masters.


CD 1:

01. I Remember You
02. Dancing On The Ceiling
03. How About You
04. I Love You
05. It Could Happen To You
06. Like Someone In Love
07. Indiana/Donna Lee
08. Days Of Wine And Roses

CD 2:

01. Darn That Dream
02. Billie's Bounce
03. I Remember You (Version #2)
04. Body and Soul
05. Indiana/Donna Lee (Version #2)
06. Out Of Nowhere
07. On Green Dolphin Street
08. Motion

Personnel: Jimmy Raney (g) & Bill Takas (b)…plus Eric Diehl (g) (on CD 1, #6-7 & CD 2, #3-5 only).

CD 1, tracks #1-7 recorded Live at Bradley's, New York, on December 17, 1974.
CD 1, tracks #8 & CD 2: recorded on December 18, 1974.