Kaoru Azuma - Wonderlands (Feat. Phillip Strange) (2015)

Kaoru Azuma - Wonderlands (Feat. Phillip Strange) (2015)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 11 Tracks | 67:15 | 155 MB
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz | Label: Daiki Musica

Kaoru Azuma was born in Osaka, Japan 1977.
She started her professional career during her junior college year in Osaka, Kyoto, and other parts of Japan.
In 2000, she got the one of the prizes of the Kobe Jazz Vocal Queen Contest.
In 2003, she moved to New York to perform and enrolled in the jazz studies program at the City College of New York.
Kaoru’s knowledge and education in music comes from great singers and musicians such as Mark Murphy, Sheila Jordan,
Suzanne Pittson, Kate McGarry, Mike Holober and Scott Reeves in New York.
After receiving her BFA degree and the Pro Music Award from City College, Kaoru began performing in clubs such as the 55 bar, the Cornelia Street Café and others while collaborating with New York-based musicians.
In 2006, Kaoru’s 1st CD, The Water Is Wide was released in the U.S. and has had airplay in Belgium and Switzerland.
In 2008, Kaoru’s 2nd CD, Footprints in New York (River East Music 1002, 1003), was released in the U.S. and Japan.
Her selections are primarily compositions associated with the great jazz masters.
Her CD was reviewed and recommended as a Hot New CD for Summer 2009 by Jazz Improv Magazine.
In 2010, Kaoru was selected as a guest vocalist with Japanese All Stars from Kobe City for the French Quarter Jazz Festival in New Orleans, where she performed a series of acclaimed shows.
In 2011, Kaoru was selected as one of the semifinalists for the 10th International Jazz Voices Competition in Klaipeda, Lithuania.
The unit Star In Green with guitarist, Jesse Forest released its 1st album Star In Green (River East Music 1003) in October 2011.
In 2013, Travels (APLS-1305 Apollo Sounds) with co- leader Hitomi Nishiyama, was released.
Throughout she has been known as a remarkable and creative jazz vocalist, composing original music, writing lyrics on re-imagined instrumental tunes, doing free improvisation, and contributing unique arrangements to the jazz canon.


01. Alice In Wonderland (7:03)
02. My Foolish Heart (7:53)
03. Four (6:13)
04. What A Wonderful World (7:33)
05. So Nice (4:24)
06. My One And Only Love (6:29)
07. Joy Spring (4:20)
08. Moonlight Serenade (7:09)
09. East Of The Sun (5:09)
10. But Not For Me (6:03)
11. I'll Be Seeing You (4:55)