Вход в свой аккаунт

Или войдите через соц. сети

Gypsophilia - Night Swimming (2015)

Gypsophilia - Night Swimming (2015)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 9 Tracks | 40:49 | 100 MB
Genre: Jazz, Gypsy Jazz, World | Label: Forward Music Group

“ Haligonian jazz brigade Gypsophilia will unveil their latest LP Night Swimming next week, but Exclaim! is giving you the chance to hear it in its entirety before it's officially out.

The seven-piece ensemble are known for leaving a lasting live impression, delivering danceable, genre-defying music to festival crowds and cramped clubs alike. The band describe their sound as "angular, sweet, nostalgic, modern and raucous," and they took that energy to Joel Plaskett's New Scotland Yard studio in Dartmouth, NS, to make their latest record.

Night Swimming marks a departure from Gypsophilia's usual process of recording live, opting to hone their sound a bit more with the help of producer Joshua Van Tassel (David Myles, Great Lake Swimmers, Amelia Curran). The resulting 9-song collection shows off a slightly darker, more cinematic side to the group, though their signature swing remains in tact.

Opener "Boo Doo Down" features string arrangements that are at once eerie and exotic, yet reminiscent of their East coast roots, in addition to the suspense-building percussion and melodic guitar lines that propel the song forward. Things take a darker turn on tracks like "Deep Water" and the haunting, album closer "Night Falls and You Need Company," but there are still plenty of moments of brightness, buoyancy and straight-up groove to keep you moving.

Night Swimming is due out on May 19, but you can scroll past the band's upcoming tour dates to give it an early listen in the player below, right now.


1. Boo Doo Down (4:58)
2. Cake Walk (3:39)
3. Insomniac's Dream (4:00)
4. Long Shadows (4:12)
5. Deep Water (4:28)
6. Dirty Circus (5:26)
7. Ritib (Right in the in Between) (5:56)
8. Jaure?s (3:11)
9. Night Falls and You Need Company (4:59)