Bucky Pizzarelli - Renaissance: A Journey From Classical To Jazz (2015)

Bucky Pizzarelli - Renaissance: A Journey From Classical To Jazz (2015)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 14 Tracks | 58:44 | 139 MB
Genre: Jazz, Classical | Label: Arbor Records

A Classical concerto performed by the Orchestra and also American Songbook Standards performed by Bucky Pizzarelli and Ed Laub (guitar duets).

Here’s another gem from Bucky Pizzarelli and Arbors Records. It opens with a classical ensemble by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedeso: Tedesco Concerto No. 1 in D, opus 99. This work is about twenty-two minutes long and Bucky is accompanied by a ten-piece ensemble with players whose careers encompass both classical and jazz.

Remainder of the recordings on this CD are from the Great American Songbook. Most, if not all, the songs will be familiar to the average jazzfan. They include: Send in the Clowns, Laura, Stardust, Satin Doll, I’m Through with Love and I’ll Never Be the Same. The recording concludes with that great Gordon Jenkins tune, Goodbye, which was for many years Benny Goodman’s closing theme.

The jazz section of this recording features guitarist Ed Laub accompanying Bucky. Ed is a regular performer and former student of Bucky’s. They both play seven-string guitars. I called Bucky to get some background on this recording. He told me how the classical group was assembled for the recording and gave me some background on his long association with both Ed Laub and Ed Berger.


01. Tedesco Concerto Allegretto (7:19)
02. Tedesco Concerto Andantio Alla Romanza (6:43)
03. Tedesco Concerto Ritmico E Cavalleresco (7:22)
04. Send In The Clowns (3:27)
05. Have You Met Miss Jones (3:27)
06. Laura (2:56)
07. The Bad And The Beautiful (1:48)
08. Medley: Street Of Dreams/Two Funky People (4:24)
09. Stardust (4:06)
10. Satin Doll (4:29)
11. Medley: I'm Through With Love/I'll Never Be The Same (3:19)
12. Robbins Nest (3:54)
13. Medley: It's Easy To Remember/This Nearly Was Mine (3:03)
14. Goodbye (2:21)