Вход в свой аккаунт

Или войдите через соц. сети

Wes Montgomery - Pretty Blue (2007)

Wes Montgomery - Pretty Blue (2007)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 21 Tracks | 1:18:51 | 182 MB
Genre: Jazz | Label: Milestone

“ Wes Montgomery accomplished something few jazz artists could, as he used the disparate elements of the orchestral string ensemble and small organ combo within a similar balladic approach. While one could contend these concepts may not be as effective as a more conventional configuration, Montgomery made them work to a certain extent. What he could not do was infuse an energy that transcends the ballad approach, making this style of jazz priceless. There's a certain lugubrious restraint that permeates this single CD, originally a two-fer on vinyl, that showcases the guitarist's first recordings with strings, and selections plucked from his most ramped down organ combo featuring Melvin Rhyne. The 12 selections with a 12-piece string ensemble (conducted and arranged by Jimmy Jones) plus woodwinds and his rhythm section cover standards, a lone original, a Miles Davis and a Duke Ellington composition reissued from the 1963 Riverside LP Fusion! There's no forward motion or groove whatsoever, it's all ballads and an emphasis on diffidence, with the strings submerging Montgomery's guitar for the most part. The wintry sparkle of the title cut and intro of "Prelude to a Kiss" brightens the otherwise sleepy mood and does indeed complement Montgomery. Two takes of "God Bless the Child" are weakly interpreted, while the strings clash with the easy swing of the otherwise bop icon "Tune Up." An occasional oboe or clarinet turns jazz ballads chamber-like, but literally smothers the music, and only on "My Romance" and "Somewhere" does honest emotionalism emerge. For the sessions with master organist Rhyne, it's all ballads and no soul-jazz as one might expect, save a sprightly bossa nova take on "Canadian Sunset" and a relaxed swing for Benny Golson's "Whisper Not." There's a slight spooky feeling on "'Round Midnight," where otherwise Montgomery matches the serenity Rhyne evokes on these nine standards taken from three different trio recordings for Riverside in 1959 and 1963. Where Montgomery's more distinctly commercial work would follow these sessions, what this album represents is an easy listening prelude that would shape the guitarist's path, for better or worse depending on your perspective. (allmusic) ”

“ Wes's first LP with strings ( Fusion ) and his best 1959/1963 tracks with organist Melvin Rhyne are combined here to bring you 21 tracks of blues and ballads by the jazz-guitar icon! Includes All the Way; My Romance; The Girl Next Door; Whisper Not; 'Round Midnight; Too Late Now , and more. (amazon) ”


01. All The Way
02. Pretty Blue (Take 2)
03. God Bless The Child
04. God Bless The Child (take 2)
05. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
06. The Girl Next Door
07. My Romance
08. Tune Up (Take 5)
09. Tune Up (Take 4)
10. Prelude To A Kiss
11. Somewhere
12. Baubles, Bangles And Beads
13. 'Round Midnight
14. Whisper Not
15. Too Late Now
16. Canadian Sunset
17. For Heaven's Sake
18. Days Of Wine And Roses
19. Yesterday's Child
20. Dreamsville
21. For All We Know


Arranged By, Conductor – Jimmy Jones (3)
Art Direction – Phil Carroll
Bass – Milt Hinton
Concertmaster – Gene Orloff
Drums – George Brown (4), Jimmy Cobb, Osie Johnson, Paul Parker (2)
Guitar – Kenny Burrell, Wes Montgomery
Harp – Gloria Agostini, Margaret Rose
Organ – Melvin Rhyne
Piano – Dick Hyman, Hank Jones
Producer – Orrin Keepnews
Remastered By – David Turner (2)
Woodwind – Phil Bodner