Greg Manning - Dance With You (2014)

Greg Manning - Dance With You (2014)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 11 Tracks | 51:18 | 121 MB
Genre: Jazz, Smooth Jazz | Label: Kalimba Music

Swiss-American keyboardist Greg Manning made it a point to impress with his 2010 debut release The Calling which featured such high profile names as renowned saxophonist KirkGreg Manning CD Whalum and bluesman Keb’Mo’. He now returns with a nicely crafted and sturdy release called Dance With You. With lots of bounce and soulful grooves, he beckons to the lovers of dance and romance to come his way.

Again arriving with some heavyweight help in the form of saxtress Mindi Abair and rising star saxmen Elan Trotman and Vincent Ingala, among others, Manning sets a deliberate pace and direction here.

The mid-tempo lead track “Bahia” tantalizes with a Brazilian touch and ushers in the funk element in key places, as well. It’s quickly followed by a funky up-tempo dancer called “Phoenix Rise!” featuring saxman Gianni Vancini. These two, along with the frenetic “Groove Me,” the funky, sassy “Cruising Along the Road,” and the shake-your-groove-thang title track point to where the up-tempo vibe of the album plans to take you.

Tossing in the smooth, light, and romance-laden “Say Yes,” a riveting cover of Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me” (she is apparently a fave of his as he also covered her “Nick of Time“ on his debut release) and a cool, swaying mid-tempo tribute to our fallen brother Wayman Tisdale with “Wayman” solidifies the appeal of this well-produced CD. Actually, “Wayman” is a reprise of the version he provided on his debut release with more emphasis on a keys lead rather than bass here. Nice touch.

A diverse package of moods clearly defines this album. Manning’s understanding of what shapes a really good smooth jazz project is evident here as he explores the feel-good, the romantic, and the introspective aspects of this music. Kudos for a great job on this his sophomore effort. (Ronald Jackson)


01. Bahia (4:57)
02. Phoenix Rise! (4:10)
03. Say Yes (4:46)
04. For The Love Of You (4:54)
05. Groove Me (Extended Version) (5:16)
06. Cruisin' Down The Road (4:25)
07. I Can't Make You Love Me (4:54)
08. Elegant Lady (4:13)
09. Dance With You (3:55)
10. Wayman (4:21)
11. Look Up (5:20)