Alex Pangman - New (2014)

Alex Pangman - New (2014)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 10 Tracks | 36:12 | 100 MB
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz | Label: Justin Time Records

Toronto’s Alex Pangman is set to release “new”, her 3rd album with Justin Time Records on November 3rd, at Toronto’s Hugh’s Room, with subsequent launches on November 7th at Montreal’s Upstairs Jazz, and November 9th at London ON’s Aeolian Hall.

The album was recorded in New Orleans. New being the theme, it represents both a new chance at life — Pangman had second lung transplant just seven months before recording this album — but also a shock of new things. New co-producer Andrew Gilchrist recorded Pangman in New Orleans using new musicians from the city where jazz was born. “I wanted to test myself as an artist by taking this record someplace different, physically and sonically. This new session has a slightly different soundscape, and I think it’s groovy and very swinging.”

Known for a dozen or so years as Canada’s sweetheart of swing, Pangman made sure to include Canadian compositions in this collection of tin pan alley gems. her original song It’s Never Enough slide in seamlessly beside Canadian classics, I’ll Never Smile Again, and, The World is Waiting For the sunrise. Her favourite song on the record is Fit As A Fiddle, “Because I am again,” she says. True to form, not even a year after her most recent transplant, she was on the road again touring the jazz festival circuit to prove it.


01. Fit As a Fiddle (3:36)
02. I'll Never Smile Again (3:03)
03. It's Never Enough (3:32)
04. Rhythm Is Our Business (2:48)
05. The World Is Waiting For the Sunshine (3:25)
06. You Let Me Down (5:15)
07. When I Got Low I Get High (3:16)
08. Sweet Substitute (4:14)
09. Who-oo? You-oo? That's Who! (2:25)
10. My Man Rocks (4:32)