Valerie MacCarthy & Jean Chaudron Trio - Color Play (2014)

Valerie MacCarthy & Jean Chaudron Trio - Color Play (2014)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 14 Tracks | 58:36 | 138 MB
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz, Soul, Blues | Label: Jean Chaudron

The versatile Franco-American singer Valérie MacCarthy has always been musically adventurous and has never sought to limited herself to the classical world. Though opera remains her touchstone, she has continued to explore other musical genres – including jazz and pop – throughout her career. Indeed, her love of jazz goes back to her college days at Northwestern.

These days, she is happily collaborating with the Jean Chaudron Trio, performing both traditional jazz favorites and original songs by Jean Chaudron, lending her classical training and multifaceted soprano to this musically complex and rich music. Recently, she produced music videos for several original pop songs that she co-wrote; the official music videos, in which she performs, are available on this site as well as on You Tube. Even in opera, Ms. MacCarthy has pushed boundaries in exciting ways. She appeared on Broadway in Baz Luhrman’s acclaimed production of La bohème, and, in 2003, she created her own one-woman show around her personalized interpretations of Poulenc’s La Voix humaine and Menotti’s The Telephone.

She has a particular affinity for modern works: in 2008, she starred in the world premiere of Lost Highway, an opera based on the David Lynch film of the same name (with libretto by Nobel Prize-winning writer Elfriede Jelinek), and recent and upcoming engagements include Mrs. Maurrant in Kurt Weill’s Street Scene and Magda Sorel in Menotti’s The Consul. Ms. MacCarthy has performed throughout the United States and Europe, appearing at many prestigious houses and festivals, including the Ravinia Festival (Chicago) and Holland Park Festival (London).


01. I Put A Spell On You (4:03)
02. Chain Of Fools (3:30)
03. Round Midnight (6:37)
04. Couleur Orange (3:48)
05. White Room (4:16)
06. Tender Moment (4:54)
07. Use Me (4:42)
08. The Letter (2:14)
09. Summertime (4:13)
10. Well You Needn't (3:03)
11. Nights In White Satin (5:01)
12. Zana (3:18)
13. Black Coffee (5:49)
14. Blues For Ed (3:01)


Valérie MacCarthy: Vocals
Bernard Désormières: Piano
Jean Chaudron: Double Bass
Alain Bouchaux: Drums