Вход в свой аккаунт

Или войдите через соц. сети

Daryl Sherman & John Cocuzzi - Celebrating Mildred Bailey And Red Norvo (1996)

Daryl Sherman & John Cocuzzi - Celebrating Mildred Bailey And Red Norvo (1996)
MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 14 Tracks | 62:25 | 146 MB
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz | Label: Audiophile Records

“ The talented swing singer Daryl Sherman and vibraphonist John Cocuzzi pay tribute to Mildred Bailey and Red Norvo on this very enjoyable CD. Sherman does a superlative job of emulating "The Rockin' Chair Lady" without needing to change her own basic approach much on some of Bailey's greatest hits, plus a few obscurities. "Georgia on My Mind" and "Rockin' Chair" are effectively combined in a medley, the spirit of Bailey's saucy rendition of "Squeeze Me" is re-created, "It's So Peaceful in the Country" is wistful, and "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm" really swings. Cocuzzi (whose sound is somewhere between Norvo and Lionel Hampton) takes some fine solos, but the spectacular trumpeter Randy Sandke (reminding one of both Bunny Berigan and Charlie Shavers) steals the show every time he appears. Trombonist Randy Reinhart and clarinetist Bobby Gordon also fare well, and both "The Man I Love" (which has a memorable Sandke-Reinhart tradeoff) and "Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams" are taken as instrumentals. But it is Daryl Sherman's wonderful singing that makes this a particularly memorable outing. (Review by Scott Yanow) ”


01. I Go For That (3:13)
02. Squeeze Me (5:30)
03. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm (3:54)
04. The Man I Love (Instrumental) (4:01)
05. Medley: Georgia On My Mind/Rockin' Chair (5:15)
06. Arthur Murray Taught Me Dancing In A Hurry (3:47)
07. Medley: Guess I'll Go Back Home (This Summer)/It's So Peaceful In The Country (4:22)
08. There'll Be Some Changes Made (4:21)
09. You're Laughing At Me (4:36)
10. Always And Always (3:22)
11. You Started Something (3:39)
12. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (Instrumental) (5:47)
13. Right As The Rain (3:20)
14. Lover, Come Back To Me (7:12)